Skip to content

GLEEBLOG #5: Songs I Wish Glee Hadn’t Covered (Or At Least Covered Differently)

by on April 8, 2011

By Alex Hayes

This will be one of my shorter posts, since I love pretty much everything Glee does. However, there are just some songs that should not have been performed the way they were. Here, in order from least offensive to ‘what were they thinking?’ are my four picks.

Least Offensive
The Waitresses – “I Know What Boys Like” (performed by Lauren)

I’ll cut this one some slack, since it was Lauren’s first solo performance. Normally when Glee performs a song, they do something to differentiate it from the original, but Lauren’s performance sounded very similar. It wasn’t special, it wasn’t particularly memorable, and I don’t think it was sung very well. Mean, maybe, but that’s how I see it (too bad my name’s not Sue…”That’s how Alex…’C’s it” doesn’t have quite the same ring).

Really?
Sisqo – “Thong Song” (performed by Mr. Schue)

As much as they had Mr. Schue rapping at the beginning of the show, never did he look more ridiculous than when singing “Thong Song”. Seriously, Ryan Murphy? You thought it wouldn’t look completely ridiculous to have pasty white boy Mr. Schue serenading Emma with lyrics like “She had dumps like a truck”? Not your best call in judgement.

 

OH NO THEY DIDN’T! *zsnap*
Simon & Garfunkel – “Bridge Over Troubled Water” (performed by Mercedes and her church choir)

This is one I may get a lot of disagreements about. I realize they performed it as a choir, and I realize they performed the Aretha Franklin version. I, however, do not like the Aretha Franklin version. I LOVE Simon & Garfunkel. Like, seriously…I’m pretty sure I was the only 5-year-old to ever ask for (and receive) Simon & Garfunkel tapes for my sixth birthday. I’ve been listening to them since I was five, and I hate when people perform their songs in a way I don’t like. I would have much preferred that they perform the S&G version instead, which I feel is more powerful anyway. (If it makes you fans of the Glee/Aretha version feel better, I didn’t like when my sister’s 7th grade choir performed the song either).

 

What WERE They Thinking?
Britney Spears – “…Baby One More Time” (performed by Rachel)

It might seem odd that I have a Rachel song on this list, since normally Rachel Berry can do no wrong in my eyes. When I heard this would be Rachel’s big song in “Brittany/Britney”, I was really excited. That excitement quickly disappeared. This just wasn’t her song. I think a lot of the problem was that she sang it in an octave higher than Ms. Spears, so it sounded off to someone who grew up listening to Britney. The whole thing just seemed…wrong. Thankfully, Rachel has provided us with a multitude of phenomenal renditions of other songs that more than outweigh the atrocity that was “…Baby One More Time”.

*************

Okay…it didn’t turn out as short as I expected it to, but what can I say…I like to be comprehensive.

-Alex

 

2 Comments
  1. Nikki permalink

    Umm I think you forgot about how they ruined Lady Gaga’s Pokerface

  2. Alex permalink

    I was actually going to put Poker Face on there, but I forgot to. It wasn’t that I didn’t like how they did the song; I liked it, and I thought it was a fresh, interesting take on the song.

    I was just creeped out that a mother and daughter were singing about “bluffin’ with their muffins” together. That’s the kind of mother-daughter bonding NOBODY needs.

    So yes, I wish they would have done it differently, but only by having different people singing it (Rachel and Kurt would have been amusing).

Leave a Reply

