Skip to content

Adam Cole’s blog – 4/7/11

by on April 8, 2011

If you’re not friends with Adam Cole on facebook, get on that shit. I remember friending him last year where he had about 6-700 friends, while using his real name. Now Cole has over 2,400 fans and seems to be growing by the day.

This evening he posted a note/blog entry on his profile detailing his career as he enters his third year in pro wrestling. You can read it on Facebook or after the cut.It’s a very good read and insight on a future superstar as he lives the dream.

– Mike

Hello everyone,

I’ve had a tradition where for every year that I wrestle, I write a blog kind of recapping my thoughts and my accomplishments of the past year. As you can guess by the title, I’m coming up on my third year in pro wrestling. This blog will be a bit different than others, and for anyone who is reading this right now, thanks for taking the time to do so!

Why do you want to be a wrestler? That was the first question that I was asked on my first day of training. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what my answer was. Don’t get me wrong, since I was 9 years old I fell in love with pro wrestling. I bought all the magazines, ordered all the DVD’s, and watched every bit of wrestling that I could on TV. I knew that when I watched Steve Austin vs. The Rock at WrestleMania 17, and 67,000 people rose to their feet when Austin made his entrance, that this is what I wanted to do. The goosebumps shot up my spine, and I said to myself “I need to be a part of this.” Fast forward to my first day of training, and when the question of why was asked of me, I still didn’t have an answer. Well, the experiences that I’ve had these past three years have answered that question.

This past year in particular, I have gotten to live out so many dreams that I’ve had. I got to travel overseas, and tour Europe for a month, which was a total dream come true. Everyone over there was so nice, and made me feel right at home. Getting the chance to wrestle everyday, in front of great crowds, surrounded by great people, is a dream come true for a pro wrestler. One day, I got to do a bit of site seeing, and got to see the city of London for a day. As I was walking around with my fellow wrestlers (Bagpuss yall), it really hit me. I’m getting to see and experience so much of the world, and at such a young age. Being given the opportunity to travel through pro wrestling is one of the many reasons that I want to be a wrestler.

August 23, 2010 was another dream come true for me, as that was the day that I signed with Ring of Honor Wrestling. You don’t need me to tell you that ROH is the place to be, and that many wrestlers dream of just getting to wrestle there one time. ROH has given me a giant opportunity to grow and perform in front of the best crowds in the world, and this is an opportunity that I don’t take lightly. Since I started with ROH, I have been tagging with Kyle O’ Reilly. I just want to state publicly, that Kyle is someone I truely look up to. He is so talented, so hungry, and just a great friend. I feed off of his passion for pro wrestling, and I hope I do the same for him. Being paired with him has been an absolute highlight of my career, and I know that great things are in store for his future. Me and Kyle got to open Final Battle this past year together, against the All Night Express, in the Manhattan Center live on iPPV. That moment made us grow even more as a tag team, and as friends. That was the highlight of our tag team career thus far, until this past weekend when we went toe to toe with The Briscoes and the Kings of Wresttling at Center Stage in Atlanta. Even though we didn’t come out on top, we now know that we can hang with the elite here in ROH, and our hunger for ROH Tag Team gold is stronger than ever. Everyone in the ROH locker room, from the boys, to management, and everyone in between, is proof to me that there is nowhere I would rather be. I can’t thank everyone enough for helping me grow, and continuing to make my love of pro wrestling grow. That is why I want to be a wrestler.

The most exciting thing about pro wrestling, is that you can never do it all. I’m not even close to achieving all that I would like to, and I know there are lots of areas that I would like to grow. I would love to travel more overseas, and really gain as much experience as I can everywhere I can. There are many guys that I would love to step into the ring with, to both test myself and grow as a wrestler. The possibilities are endless, and that is what makes this job so exciting. That is why I want to be a wrestler.

Why do I wrestle? Because there is no other sport on this planet that can offer you this much. The chance to perform in front of great fans, the most passionate in the world, feeling that energy that nothing else can create, is why I wrestle. Getting to see so many parts of the world, and meet so many great people, is why I wrestle. Training harder than I ever have in my life, and becoming the athlete that you want to be, is why I wrestle. Creating friendships that are timeless is why I wrestle. I love pro wrestling.

I was that kid in high school that was told he had a stupid dream, and that I need to get a real job and join reality. Well I can tell you, I’m having much more fun on this side of the planet. Not to turn this into a motivational piece, but it is so true. You can do ANYTHING that you set your mind to. No matter how many people tell you no, no matter how many people don’t believe in you, you can do it. You have the ability to shoot for the stars, and go after what you want in this life. It’s all up to you, and how bad you want to achieve your dreams. Dream big, go after your goals, and you will find nothing but reward.

The past three years have been the best three years of my life, and I have pro wrestling to thank. I truely appreciate every single fan who has come out to a show and enjoyed pro wrestling. You have made this journey such a joy for me, and you’ve helped create moments in my life that I will never forget. Every wrestler that I have come across, who has taken the time to help me learn, I thank you more than words can describe. It never goes on deaf ears, and your knowledge means so much to me. And to all my friends in wrestling, I love you all so much. This journey would mean much less to me had I not met all of you, and your friendship means the world to me.

So they say that third times the charm right? This year will be just that. I’m just getting started guys, and lets all make this year the best one yet!

-Adam

From → Ring of Honor

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

