Skip to content

GLEEBLOG #4: Ten Songs I Wish Glee Would Cover…

by on March 31, 2011

 

By Alex Hayes

As we all know, Glee does a LOT of song covers. Their musical choices have been very diverse, with everything from Young MC to Lady Antebellum to Britney Spears. Based on different characters’ situations and voices, I’ve compiled a list of songs I think should be performed on Glee.


1.) “Rolling In The Deep” by Adele

I think Santana’s voice would be PERFECT for this song, and given her situation with Brittany, I think the lyrics are a good match too.

2.) “You Belong With Me” by Taylor Swift
The perfect song for Rachel to sing about Finn’s relationship with Quinn. Given how popular T-Swizzle has been the last couple years, not to mention her friendship with Cory Monteith (Finn), I’m surprised that we haven’t heard one of her songs on Glee yet. Granted, this song would have been more fitting when Quinn was still a Cheerio, but I think the same feeling is there. Rachel knows that she and Finn still belong together, and I think underneath it all, he does too.

3.) “Sexyback” by Justin Timberlake
Mike Chang should sing the JT part, and since Artie seems to have taken over the title of “Resident White Rapper” from Mr. Schue, he should do the Timbaland part. Mike hasn’t gotten much time in the spotlight, and the song is kind of talk-singing anyway, so it wouldn’t be super vocally challenging for the singing newbie. And if you’ve caught a peek of Mike’s abs, you KNOW he’s bringing sexy back!

4.) “Faith” by George Michael
This is definitely right up Puck’s alley. I can see Santana getting bored with Sam and, unable to have Brittany, trying to jump back in the sack with Puck. Since Puck’s still trying to get with Lauren, and he knows how Santana operates, I can see him singing this to her as kind of a “Yeah, I like sexing you, but I’m done with that” thing.

5.) “Baby, I’m Yours” by the Arctic Monkeys
Since the Warblers are so good with harmonies, and Blaine’s not too shy to publicly sing his feelings, I think this would be perfect for him to sing to Kurt when/if they decide to actually be a couple.

6.) “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” by Whitney Houston
Mercedes needs some lovin’, and she’s the perfect person to capture the power in Whitney’s voice. Plus the song is just so fun and danceable.

7.) “Hungry Eyes” by Eric Carmen
While the idea of a Dirty Dancing episode would thrill me to pieces (do you hear that, Ryan Murphy?), I think that this would be a good song for Will to sing to Emma during any episode (because we all know he’s not really over her).

8.) “Thinking of You” by Katy Perry
To go along with #7, it’s been made pretty obvious that Emma’s not over Will either, and this song would perfectly capture the longing she feels for Will and the guilt she feels over Carl. Katy Perry loves when Glee covers her songs, so I’m sure she’d be stoked about it too.

9.) “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now” by Celine Dion
It’s completely obvious (at least to me) that Finchel WILL be once more (I refuse to believe any differently), and I think the perfect moment for that reconciliation to happen should be augmented by them singing this as a duet. Powerful? Yes. Haunting? Yes. Awesome? Definitely.

10.) “Lovefool” by the Cardigans
After #9 happens, and Finn (inevitably) ends things with Quinn, she’s going to be really upset that her plans for total popularity have been thwarted again. I wouldn’t put it past her to do everything in her power to get Finn back desperately, and this song reeks of desperation.

Next Installment: Songs I Wish Glee HADN’T Covered (or at least covered differently)

-Alex

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

